Eating Clean in 2016!!!!


January 4th – 24th, 2016

Hi clients and friends!

Since I make my living through fitness, you might think I have this nutrition and weight maintenance thing permanently under control. I wish that were the case, but, I always have five pounds, more or less, to take off after the holidays. I have to take care of this quickly, because I can’t expect my clients to believe in me unless I walk the talk, right? So, I’ve developed a three-week clean eating program for myself that I’ve used for several years. Now, I have my clients join me in this three-week detox/jumpstart, so we can all get back on track after the excess.

There are several reasons this is effective. First, we’re all in this together! When you’re feeling deprived, you can think about everyone else doing this with you. We’ll keep each other on track.

Second, it’s very effective to jumpstart fat loss by losing all the excess water/salt weight. You really don’t know where you’re at, weight-wise, until you get through at least a week without excess sugar, salt, simple carbohydrates, and alcohol. That’s probably five pounds right there!

Finally, losing those first few pounds will get us going on some real fat loss. There’s nothing quite as motivating as success, is there?

I highly recommend getting comfortable tracking your nutrition. This is easier than ever with the many apps available for your mobile platform. My current favorite is My Fitness Pal.

If you’re using a fitness tracking device, use the food tracker that works best with that device. For example, FitBit has its own tracker within the app.

Here are the guidelines:

  • Throw out all that junk! If you can’t get rid of it completely because family members eat it, put all the junk in one place and DON’T LOOK AT IT.
  • Find ways to get your water intake between 3 – 4 quarts each day. Fat and salt loss don’t happen without enough water in your system to take care of all other functions and carry away excess waste products. Tea, made from tea bags (not mix), and fruit infusions are fine.
  • Don’t eat anything that doesn’t provide more for your body than carbs and fat. This means:
    • All complex carbs – brown breads, colored potatoes
    • No white carbs – flour, sugar, or pasta
  • Eat highly colored vegetables and fruits. Eat them as close to their natural state as possible. What that means: eat an apple instead of apple sauce; steamed broccoli with herbs instead of broccoli au gratin.
  • The same is true for your protein intake. Eat lean protein with no added sugar. The sugar would come from sauces, like barbecue and most tomato sauces.
  • No alcohol! This means none. Give your body the opportunity to get back to functioning without alcohol for three weeks. C’mon! It’s three weeks!
  • No added sugar and limited artificial sweeteners. Look for added sugar in your processed foods. For instance, if the bread doesn’t say 100% whole wheat, I can almost guarantee it has added sugar.
  • Eat good fats and eliminate bad fats. Good for cooking: butter and coconut oil. Cold oils: olive and nut oils. Avoid corn, soybean, canola oil, and any margarine. They’re worse for you than I can cover here; just take them out of your diet where possible.
  • My recommended eating plan: The Zone Diet by Dr. Barry Sears. The guidelines:
    • 40% calories from carbohydrates
    • 30% calories from fats
    • 30% from protein


I’m right in there with you, so let’s get back on track together! I promise that if you follow these broadly stroked guidelines, you will feel a difference in your body in three weeks.

Please feel free to text, email, or call about any of this. I’d love to answer any questions you have. It’s my passion to help all my clients be their best, healthiest, most self-assured, selves!!!

Here’s to 2016!!!

Hugs,

Elizabeth
504-756-9330

Leave a Reply

